Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships for International Students

The Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships for International Students represent a valuable opportunity for students from across the globe to pursue higher education and foster international collaboration. These scholarships, offered by the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission, play a pivotal role in promoting educational equity and excellence. They facilitate access to top-notch academic institutions within Commonwealth member countries, enabling students to gain a world-class education. By supporting talented individuals from diverse backgrounds, these scholarships contribute to the development of future leaders and change-makers who can drive positive change in their home countries and beyond. The Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships exemplify the organization’s commitment to fostering global partnerships and advancing the cause of education for all.

The Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships for International Students offer recipients:

  • Full tuition coverage.
  • Airfare to and from their home country.
  • A living allowance or stipend.
  • A thesis grant if it applies to their program.
  • A warm clothing allowance.
  • A study travel grant.
  • Access to professional development opportunities.
  • Membership in an alumni network.
  • Recognition of academic excellence.
  • The chance to contribute knowledge and expertise to their home countries.

Check out also, Rhodes Scholarships: Supporting Excellence at the University of Oxford

Details About Clarendon Fund Scholarships

  • Scholarship Name: Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships
  • Programs: Masters Degree
  • Location: UK
  • Deadline:17 Oct 2023 (annual)

The Commonwealth Scholarships for Master’s level studies in the United Kingdom are specifically available to citizens hailing from developing Commonwealth nations. These scholarships are generously funded by the United Kingdom’s Department for International Development (DFID).

Host Institution(s):

UK Universties

Level and Field(s) of study:

A qualifying Master’s degree program at a university in the United Kingdom.

Number of Scholarships:

Not specified

Target group:

Individuals who hold citizenship in or have been granted refugee status by one of the eligible Commonwealth countries, including but not limited to Bangladesh, Belize, Botswana, Cameroon, Dominica, Eswatini, Fiji, Gabon, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Montserrat, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Saint Helena, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and The Grenadines, Samoa, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, The Gambia, Togo, Tonga, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, and Zambia.

Scholarship value/inclusions:

Every scholarship encompasses air travel expenses to and from the United Kingdom, covers tuition and examination fees, offers a stipend, includes a thesis grant if applicable, and provides an allowance for warm clothing, among other benefits.


To be eligible for these scholarships, you must meet the following criteria:

  •  Hold citizenship in an eligible Commonwealth country or have been granted refugee status by one, or be a British Protected Person.
  • Maintain permanent residency in an eligible Commonwealth country.
  • Be prepared to commence your academic studies in the United Kingdom at the beginning of the UK academic year in September 2024.
  • Possess, by September 2024, a first degree with at least an upper second-class (2:1) honours standard, or hold a second-class degree along with a pertinent postgraduate qualification, typically a Master’s degree. The Commonwealth Scholarship Commission typically does not fund a second Master’s degree in the UK. If you are applying for a second UK Master’s degree, you will need to provide a compelling justification for undertaking this course of study.
  • Demonstrate financial need, indicating that you are unable to afford UK-based studies without this scholarship.
  • Ensure that you have submitted all necessary supporting documentation in the specified format.

Application instructions:

Each nominating body is responsible for its own selection process. You must check with your nominating body for their specific advice and rules for applying, their own eligibility criteria, and their own closing date for applications.

You must make your application using the CSC’s Electronic Application System (EAS), in addition to any other application form that you are required to complete by your nominating body. All applications must be submitted by 17 October 2023, 17:00 BST at the latest.

It is important to read to visit the official website (link found below) to access the EAS system and for detailed information on how to apply for this scholarship.


Please join our WhatsApp Group  for Quick Alerts.


Leave a Comment