Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships for Developing Commonwealth Countries

The Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships for Developing Commonwealth Countries is a highly esteemed program that offers valuable educational opportunities to individuals from developing nations within the Commonwealth. These scholarships are a testament to the commitment of the Commonwealth to promote higher education and skills development in countries facing economic and social challenges. The initiative aims to empower students by providing them with the means to pursue postgraduate studies in various fields, thereby enhancing their knowledge and expertise to contribute effectively to the development of their home countries. By investing in the education of talented individuals, the Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships foster international collaboration and strengthen the bonds among member nations, ultimately working towards a more prosperous and interconnected world.

These scholarships, funded by the Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP), cover a wide range of academic disciplines and are awarded based on academic excellence and potential to make a significant impact in the applicants’ respective fields. Recipients of the Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships not only benefit from world-class education in renowned institutions but also gain exposure to diverse cultures and perspectives, fostering a global outlook that is vital in today’s interconnected world.

Moreover, these scholarships are designed to promote equity and inclusivity in education, ensuring that talented individuals from disadvantaged backgrounds have equal access to educational opportunities. This initiative not only supports the personal and professional growth of scholarship recipients but also contributes to the sustainable development of their countries of origin.

In conclusion, the Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships for Developing Commonwealth Countries serve as a beacon of hope for countless aspiring scholars, embodying the principles of educational equity, international cooperation, and the shared values of the Commonwealth. They play a pivotal role in advancing human capital development and fostering positive change on a global scale.

Commonwealth Scholarships

Details About Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships

  • Scholarship Name: Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships
  • Programs: Masters Degree
  • Location: UK
  • Deadline:17 Oct 2023 (annual)

Check out also, Rhodes Scholarships: Supporting Excellence at the University of Oxford

The United Kingdom extends Commonwealth Scholarships for Master’s studies to eligible candidates hailing from developing Commonwealth nations. This scholarship program receives financial backing from the UK Department for International Development (DFID).

Host Institution(s): 

UK Universities

Level and Field(s) of Study:

Eligible Master’s Degree Programs at UK Universities

Number of Scholarships: Commonwealth Scholarships

Not specified

Target Group:

Citizens of or individuals granted refugee status by eligible Commonwealth countries:

  • Bangladesh
  • Belize
  • Botswana
  • Cameroon
  • Dominica
  • Eswatini
  • Fiji
  • Gabon
  • Ghana
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • India
  • Jamaica
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Mauritius
  • Montserrat
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Nauru
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Rwanda
  • Saint Helena
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and The Grenadines
  • Samoa
  • Sierra Leone
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Africa
  • Sri Lanka
  • Tanzania
  • The Gambia
  • Togo
  • Tonga
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Vanuatu
  • Zambia

Scholarship Value/Inclusions: Commonwealth Scholarships

Each scholarship includes:

  • Airfare to and from the United Kingdom
  • Tuition and examination fees
  • Stipend
  • Thesis grant (if applicable)
  • Warm clothing allowance, among other benefits


To apply for these scholarships, applicants must:

  • Be a citizen of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country or be a British Protected Person
  • Be permanently resident in an eligible Commonwealth country
  • Be available to start academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in September 2024
  • Hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) honors standard or a second-class degree and a relevant postgraduate qualification (usually a Master’s degree) by September 2024. The CSC would not normally fund a second UK Master’s degree, and applicants seeking a second UK Master’s degree should provide justification for their study choice.
  • Be unable to afford to study in the UK without this scholarship
  • Have provided all supporting documentation in the required format

Application Instructions:

Candidates should be aware that direct applications to the CSC for these scholarships will not be accepted. Instead, applicants must go through one of the following nominating bodies: national nominating agencies (which serves as the primary application route) or selected non-governmental organizations and charitable entities.

Each nominating body operates its own distinct selection process. It is essential that you consult with your nominating body for precise guidance and application requirements, including eligibility criteria and application deadlines set by them.

To apply, you must utilize the CSC’s Electronic Application System (EAS), along with any other application forms mandated by your nominating body. All applications must be successfully submitted by no later than 17 October 2023, 17:00 BST.

For comprehensive information on how to apply for this scholarship, please visit the official website (accessible via the provided link) where you can access the EAS system and find detailed application instructions.


Please join our WhatsApp Group  for Quick Alerts.

Leave a Comment