The Marshall Scholarship for International Students

The Marshall Scholarship is a prestigious and highly sought-after opportunity for U.S. citizens to pursue advanced studies in the United Kingdom. Established in 1953 as a gesture of gratitude for American assistance during and after World War II, this scholarship program aims to strengthen the enduring bond between the two nations by fostering intellectual exchange and cross-cultural understanding. The Marshall Scholarship provides exceptional individuals with the chance to study at some of the UK’s most renowned universities, offering a wide array of disciplines and academic pursuits. Beyond the academic benefits, recipients of this scholarship gain a unique opportunity to immerse themselves in British culture, engage in valuable research collaborations, and develop lifelong connections with a diverse group of scholars. It remains a testament to the enduring partnership between the United States and the United Kingdom, offering American students a chance to not only further their education but also contribute to the strengthening of international relations and global cooperation.

Check out also, Rhodes Scholarships: Supporting Excellence at the University of Oxford

Details About Marshall Scholarship

  • Scholarship Name: Marshall Scholarship
  • Programs: Masters Degree
  • Location: UK
  • Deadline: 26 Sept 2023 (Annual)

The Marshall Scholarships provide funding opportunities for exceptionally talented young Americans to pursue postgraduate degrees in the United Kingdom. Every year, a maximum of 50 outstanding American students are chosen to undertake graduate studies at universities across the UK, granting them the freedom to explore their chosen fields of study without financial constraints.

Host Institution(s): Marshall Scholarship

Any UK university

Level/Field(s) of study:

Masters degree in any subject with exceptions listed at this link.

Target group: Marshall Scholarship

US citizens

Eligibility Criteria

The Marshall Scholarship program is exclusively available to individuals who are citizens of the United States and have obtained a bachelor’s degree from a recognized four-year college or university within the United States, with a minimum GPA of 3.7 at the time they commence their Scholarship. For candidates aspiring to be considered for scholarships commencing in October 2024, it is essential that they have completed their undergraduate studies after April 2021. It’s important to note that individuals who are currently pursuing or already possess a British degree or an equivalent qualification are not eligible to apply for a Marshall Scholarship.

Application instructions:

Applicants for the Marshall Scholarship program are required to submit their applications within one of the eight designated regions in the United States. Each candidate can apply in only one region, which can be either the region corresponding to their permanent home address or their usual place of residence or employment, or the region where they are currently pursuing their studies. The application deadline varies for each regional center but typically falls within the late September to early October timeframe of the year preceding the scholarship tenure.

For the 2024 Marshall Competition, the specific deadlines are as follows: September 26, 2023, at 5:00 pm in the time zone where your university is located for applicants and recommenders, and September 28, 2023, at 5:00 pm in the time zone where your university is located for endorsement and submission by the U.S. institution.

To ensure a comprehensive understanding of the application process, it is highly recommended that prospective candidates thoroughly review the instructions provided on the official Marshall Scholarship website (accessible via the link below). This will provide detailed information on how to navigate the application process for this esteemed scholarship opportunity.


Please join our WhatsApp Group  for Quick Alerts.

Leave a Comment