Rhodes Scholarships: Supporting Excellence at the University of Oxford

The Rhodes Scholarships represent esteemed postgraduate grants that aid outstanding all-round students at the University of Oxford. Originating from the will of Cecil Rhodes in 1902, the Rhodes Scholarship program stands as the most ancient and renowned international scholarship initiative globally.


Rhodes Scholarship Fund
Masters/PhD Degree

Deadline: varies, July-Oct 2023 (annual)
Study in: UK
Course starts October 2023

Brief Description of Rhodes Scholarships:

The Rhodes Scholarships are prestigious postgraduate awards supporting exceptional all-round students at the University of Oxford. Established in the will of Cecil Rhodes in 1902, the Rhodes Scholarship program stands as the oldest and perhaps the most prestigious international scholarship program in the world.

Host Institution(s):

Oxford University, UK

Level/Fields of Study:

Subject to limited restrictions, Rhodes Scholars may study any full-time postgraduate degree at the University of Oxford.

Number of Scholarships:

A class of 95 Scholars is selected each year.

Target Group in Rhodes Scholarships:

The Rhodes Scholarships are open to outstanding students from various countries and regions, including:
Australia, Bermuda, Canada, ChinaCommonwealth Caribbean (Anguilla, Antigua, the Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, the British Virgin Islands, the Cayman Islands, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Montserrat, St Lucia, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Vincent, Trinidad and Tobago, and the Turks and Caicos Islands) East Africa (Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda, South Sudan, and Burundi)Germany, Hong Kong SAR, India, Israel, Jamaica, Kenya, Malaysia, New Zealand, Pakistan

Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Southern Africa (South Africa, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Namibia, and eSwatini)Syria, Jordan, Lebanon, Palestine, United Arab Emirates, United States (including the District of Columbia and U.S. territories), West Africa (Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, the island of Saint Helena, Senegal, Sierra Leone, São Tomé and Principe, and Togo), Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

Scholarship Value/Inclusions/Duration:

A Rhodes Scholarship covers all University and College fees.Scholars receive a living stipend of £18,180 per annum (AY 2022/23).Additional benefits include a settling-in allowance, health insurance, visa support, and two economy class flights to and from the UK for the beginning and end of studies at Oxford.

Eligibility Rhodes Scholarships:

To be eligible for the Rhodes Scholarships, applicants must meet the following criteria:
– Age: Applicants must be aged 18-24 on 1st October 2023 (born after 1 October 1998 and on or before 2 October 2005). Alternatively, older candidates who completed their first undergraduate degree later than usual must be under the age of 27 on 1st October 2023 (born after 1 October 1996) and have completed their first undergraduate degree on or after 1 October 2022.

– Education: Applicants must have completed an undergraduate degree (normally a Bachelor’s degree) with an academic background and grade equivalent to a First Class Honours Degree, meeting or exceeding the specific entry requirements of their chosen full-time course at the University of Oxford.

Application Instructions:

Candidates interested in the Rhodes Scholarships should follow these steps:
1. Read the information about the Scholarships on the country-specific page to understand the application criteria, eligibility requirements, and deadline specific to their country.
2. Review the “how to apply” page and visit the official website for detailed information on the application process for this scholarship. Application deadlines vary by country but are generally around July-October 2023.


Also, Visit: DAAD Scholarships in Germany for Development-Related Postgraduate Courses

Leave a Comment